– Magda Gegenava –
Georgian cuisine
Paris

TODAY  •  Chef of the restaurant La Résidence du Refugee Food Festival, Juin – Décembre 2018
PROJECT  •  To open her own Georgian restaurant in Paris

SPECIALTY  •  Khinkali, traditional Georgian raviolis

REFUGEE FOOD FESTIVAL 2018  •  At L’Ami Jean (Paris 7) with Stéphane Jégo, and at Solina (Paris 12) with Ricardo Ferrante
REFUGEE FOOD FESTIVAL 2017  •  At Juvénile wine bar, (Paris 1) with Romain Rouleau

Portrait

ORIGINALLY

Having four children, Magda has the sense of responsibilities. Back in Georgia, she used to run a dental office and help her mother manage the family restaurant. “But in France, it was difficult for me to find a job in the medical field, coming from abroad”. But Magda is not one to let anything stop her: her other calling, cooking, is the second card up her sleeve, she explains cheerfully with great gestures.

“The first time I cooked, I was on my own. I got married when I was 17. Before that, I lived with my grandmother and my mother and they were the ones cooking. Everything was always ready to eat, the kitchen was their territory!”. But Magda’s epiphany happened when she tasted the first meal she made: “To be honest, even if it may seem presumptuous, the first time I cooked it was delicious! “.

Her talent is first confirmed with some authentic Georgian dishes that she makes: the extremely popular Khachapuri (traditional cheesy bread, which varies from region to region) or the Chaxoxbili (chicken in tomato broth with oregano), which she prepares according to her very own secret recipe.

ABOUT FOOD

Her long blond hair ripples, following the rhythm of her hands moving as she speaks. “In the 21st century it’s easy to learn on your own, because you have the internet. Here is my teacher: Youtube!”, she says, showing her smartphone with a smile. “You can prepare your dishes with any chef you like. I learned that way”.

Very organized, Magda follows many chefs online to widen her culinary horizons, according to their specialties and her own tastes. “If I have to make lasagna, for example, I watch four or five videos from experts and I use what I like: his way of making the dough, the way she makes the stuffing, and I put things together. It’s like being an artist!”.

She tells me she has a lot of fun composing recipes when she is missing some ingredients: being constrained is just an opportunity to “find new ways”.

Magda participated in the project “Engage with Refugees”, and in the Refugee Food Festival. She remembers her collaboration with Romain Roudeau at the Juveniles Wine Bar fondly. The mix of Georgian and French cuisines is of great interest to her, especially when it reveals the differences in food culture: “I told my mother that I was going to make red beans. She jumped to the ceiling and told me that it was not “restaurant food”, but something that we cook in our everyday life, in Georgia. In Paris everyone loved it and even asked for more! “.

TODAY

Magda now masters all sorts of Eastern dishes (Russian, Ukrainian, Georgian …) that her mother and grandmother taught her. She is determined to open her own restaurant in Paris, in spite of the expensive rents.

Eastern and French cuisines could meet in an atmosphere that she wants intimate and classy. With her dual experience as a chef and in management, topped with her strong spirit, there is no doubt she will make this dream come true.

With the Refugee Food Festival

Before being the chef of La Residence, Magda participated in two editions of the Refugee Food Festival in Paris. In 2017, she cooked at Juveniles (Paris 1st) with Romain Rouleau. In 2018, she was at L’Ami Jean (Paris 7th), with Stéphane Jégo and then at Solina for the closing party of the Parisian festival in Ground Control (Paris 12th), with Ricardo Ferrante.

As part of her training at La Résidence, Magda also cooked for many events in which the Refugee Food Festival participated, such as “La Fête de l’Humanité” or the “Food Temple”.

Magda Gegenava
Cuisine géorgienne
Paris

ACTUELLEMENT  •  Chef du restaurant La Résidence du Refugee Food Festival, Juin – Décembre 2018
PROJET  •  Ouvrir son propre restaurant de spécialités géorgiennes à Paris

SPÉCIALITÉ  •  Khinkali, raviolis traditionnels géorgiens

REFUGEE FOOD FESTIVAL 2018  •  Chez L’Ami Jean (Paris 7) aux côtés de Stéphane Jégo et chez Solina (Paris 12) avec Ricardo Ferrante
REFUGEE FOOD FESTIVAL 2017  •  Juvénile wine bar, (Paris 1) aux côtés de Romain Rouleau

Portrait

LES ORIGINES

Mère de quatre enfants, Magda a le sens des responsabilités. En Géorgie, elle tenait un cabinet dentaire et aidait sa mère dans la gestion du restaurant familial. « Mais en France, c’est difficile de trouver un travail dans le médical quand on vient de l’étranger ». Qu’à cela ne tienne ! Elle décide de jouer son second atout, la cuisine, comme elle me l’explique joyeusement, en faisant de grands gestes.

« La première fois que j’ai cuisiné, c’était seule. Je me suis mariée à 17 ans, avant je vivais avec ma grand-mère et ma mère qui se chargeaient de la cuisine. Tout était toujours prêt, c’était leur terrain ». Mais la révélation se fait en dégustant ses premiers essais : « Pour être honnête, même si ça peut paraître présomptueux : la première fois que j’ai cuisiné c’était délicieux ! ».

Le talent se confirme d’abord avec les plats authentiques de Géorgie que Magda prépare, parmi lesquels : le khachapuri, galette de fromage extrêmement populaire et qui varie selon les régions, ou le chaxoxbili, poulet au bouillon de tomate avec de l’origan, dont elle tient une recette secrète bien à elle.

SA CUISINE

Sa longue chevelure blonde ondule au rythme de ses gestes, qui ponctuent son discours. « Au 21ème siècle c’est facile d’apprendre seule parce qu’on a internet. Voici mon professeur : Youtube ! », dit-elle en agitant son smartphone avec un sourire. « Tu peux préparer tes plats avec n’importe quel chef que tu apprécies. J’ai appris comme ça ».

Organisée, elle suit de nombreux chefs en ligne, selon leurs spécialités et ses propres goûts, pour élargir ses horizons culinaires. « Quand je dois faire des lasagnes par exemple, je regarde quatre ou cinq vidéos d’experts, et je pioche ce qu’il me plaît : sa façon à lui de faire la pâte, cette manière de cuire la farce, et je fais une synthèse. C’est comme être artiste ! ».

Elle me raconte qu’elle aime s’amuser à composer lorsqu’il lui manque des ingrédients, la contrainte n’étant qu’une bonne opportunité pour « trouver d’autres voies ! ».

Magda a participé au projet « Engage with Refugees », ainsi qu’au Refugee Food Festival. Elle se rappelle avec plaisir de sa collaboration avec Romain Roudeau au Juvéniles Wine Bar. Le mélange des cuisines géorgienne et française l’intéresse au plus haut point, notamment dans ce qui révèle les différences de cultures gastronomiques : « J’ai dit à ma mère que j’allais cuisiner des haricots rouges. Elle a sauté au plafond en me disant que ce n’était pas une « nourriture de restaurant » mais quelque chose que l’on cuisine au quotidien en Géorgie. À Paris, tout le monde a adoré et en a même redemandé ! ».

AUJOURD’HUI

Forte de sa maitrise de toutes sortes de plats de l’Est (russes, ukrainiens, géorgiens…) que lui ont inculqués sa mère et sa grand-mère, l’ancienne dentiste a l’idée tenace d’ouvrir son restaurant envers et contre les loyers parisiens exorbitants et la rareté des emplacements convenables.

Cuisine de l’Est et de l’Hexagone pourraient se rencontrer dans une ambiance qu’elle veut intime et classe. Avec sa double expérience de chef et de gestionnaire, et son caractère bien trempé, on ne peut pas douter de la concrétisation future de ce projet.

Avec le Refugee Food Festival

Avant d’être chef de La Résidence, Magda a participé à deux éditions du Refugee Food Festival. En 2017, elle cuisinait au Juvéniles Wine Bar (Paris 1er) aux côtés de Romain Rouleau. En 2018, on pouvait la retrouver chez L’Ami Jean (Paris 7e), aux côtés de Stéphane Jégo et chez Solina lors de la soirée de clôture du festival parisien à Ground Control (Paris 12e), avec Ricardo Ferrante.

Dans le cadre de sa formation à La Résidence, Magda a aussi cuisiné pour de nombreux événements auxquels le Refugee Food Festival a participé, tels que la « Fête de l’Humanité » ou le « Food ».